Home > MHEG > Video: Games I’ve written in MHEG

Video: Games I’ve written in MHEG

September 19, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

MHEG is a programming language & middleware found in digital set top boxes in the UK and elsewhere around the world.  This video briefly shows a few games I have written in MHEG while working at the BBC.

The games shown in the video are:-

  1. ‘Nibbler’ – a Snake clone.
  2. ‘Bounce!’ – really more of a tech demo than a finished game, but surprisingly fun.  Catch the green blobs but avoid the red one.
  3. ‘Ping Pong’ – pretty self explanatory I think.

The games have never been broadcast.  I am hoping the powers that be at the BBC will let them go to air.  What do you think?  Would you like to be able to ‘Press Red’ and play games such as these?

Obviously the graphics could do with some work, but these games do at least prove the technology…

Leave a comment if you’d like to see the BBC do classic arcade style games on interactive TV.

  1. Joel Ostrowski
    October 10, 2008 at 7:41 am

    cute stuff… but I think OpenTV games are more compelling… obviously not an option for freeview. Can you show some code snippets for some of the calculation parts of the games?

  2. shp0ng1e
    October 24, 2008 at 10:49 am

    Hi Joel, thanks for your comment. Agree that OpenTV does allow for more compelling games, though I’m primarily interested in Freeview & Freesat personally, OpenTV not being ‘open’ and all… I hope to include some MHEG code in future posts… Cheers

  3. June 24, 2009 at 2:02 pm

    Dude this is awesome. Where do you begin to learn MHEG because I cannot find any documentation on it. (Unless I spend £1500) A bit difficult as I’m a student. For a public language its not very public.

  4. August 11, 2009 at 10:33 am

    Im currently working with Mheg ..Joel do you mind sharind some of you code with me plz dude…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

